You need to use a Java enabled browser to see this applet.

Shepard's Scale 

Like the endless staircase, these twelve musical notes go up or down forever. It's impossible!

Pass your mouse over the dots one at a time in both directions. Listen carefully. Do the notes get higher in one direction and lower in the other? Which note is highest? Lowest?

Each note is really a chord made up of six notes in six different octaves. Volume shifts and ambiguous octave positions make this audio illusion happen.


Java Applet: 2001 Tony Azevedo.
Stairs Artwork: ©2001 R. Ausbourne
Visit Acoustic illusions to find more information, written music, and audio files.

 Copyright All rights reserved. 
Contact us